Hello from the other side.

“A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it”
Roald Dahl

Ah – the tricky first blog post.

Working in comms, I’ve been aware of blogs and read plenty of other people’s but never thought of starting my own until my manager suggested it might be a good idea. The other day my mum told me I should write for a living (which, considering I spend my days crafting marketing messages and advising on tone and language, was somewhat worrying). Alongside my day job, I’ve recently been testing the online waters by writing for ReallyRee, the UK’s biggest beauty blog.

They told me I was doing a good job and I thought it might be nice to have my own space so I set this page up. But ever since, my mind’s been in turmoil (“Who cares what I have to say?” What if no one reads it?” “What if someone reads it?” etc).

Then I thought if I want to blog, and enjoy it, I should probably just get on with it and sod the consequences, so here I am. Let me introduce myself (it’s only polite).

cp-269

I’m a 30-something comms professional living near the foodie village of Bray with my husband Mike and our rescue dog, Leonard. That’s us on our wedding cake. Leonard was once on a Royal Mail stamp. More about that another time.

I’ve worked in the charity and housing sector for nine years. My specialities include editing, proofreading and writing in plain English. I get a kick out of turning people’s technical content into clear and succinct copy. Plain English is my best friend.

When I’m not working, I can usually be found binge-watching Lily Pebbbles on YouTube, road testing beauty and lifestyle products for ReallyRee or singing in Jubilate: an award-winning ladies’ choir. We take our singing seriously but not ourselves.

I’m aiming to blog once a week about anything that pops into my head: which is usually a combination of work-related, communications stuff, beauty reviews, places to eat and explore and a good dose of realism thrown in, because all work and no play and all that.

What are your favourite blogs?

C x

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

